The Edible Complex

The Edible Complex

blundering my way through cooking & plate presentation

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Brit Brit Greek

February 16, 2011

So last weekend’s brunch was like cooking for the United Nations.  A Greek, 2 Brits, a Dutchman, a Russian and 2 Americans.   But because it was Kirstie’s birthday I had to make my take on Bangers & Mash – which is nothing like Bangers & Mash.  It’s like it was “based on a true story, but all the facts have been changed”.

I think it was a success, but the logistics of cooking, poaching, plating – all while things were still hot was a bit tough.

The brunch consisted of:

  • Mimosas with Hibiscus Flowers
  • Baked French Toast Medallions with Cardamom/Honey Cream Cheese & Pecans
  • Lemon Basil Gelato
  • Poached Eggs with Tomato &  Black Truffle
  • Chicken Sausage Cutlets on Champagne Cream Sauce
  • Pommes Duchesse

Probably my favorite part of the entire meal was a story about Giselle pretending to be a doctor.

Giselle is tall, blonde, Greek and beautiful – a lady just like any other you’d find in Greek mythology.   She was on a flight, sitting next to a quiet soldier returning from Afghanistan when a lady in first class collapsed.

“Is there a doctor on board?” asked the disembodied voice of the pilot.   Nothing.  Again “Is there a doctor on board?”.

Never one to turn a blind eye to her fellow man, Giselle stood up.  “I’m a doctor.”

She is a photographer.

“So I just stood up.” she said

“What?”

“I just stood up.  You can do anything if you do it with confidence…”

“But pretending to be A DOCTOR?”

“Well I’ve had to deal with models collapsing and all sorts of things so kinda. But I haven’t had to deal with that since Paris…”

“…ok…”

“So anyway I went to first class where this lady was on the floor, foaming at the mouth.  I bend down and started asking her ‘When was the last time you ate something?’ ‘2 days ago’ she says.  So I asked ‘Did you take any Aspirin before flying?’ because that could lead to a Thrombosis because of thinning blood.”

“What?  How do you know this? You’re a photographer!”

“Peter, everyone knows this.  So eventually her husband lets me know she’s terrified of flying so I sat with her while she ate some nuts and drank some water.  After a while I went back to my seat and there was this round of applause and a pilot and 5 flight attendants come out with champagne and 6 free upgrades!  It was fantastic!”

“But you’re NOT A DOCTOR!”

“And then the soldier from Afghanistan sitting next to me, who this whole time had been totally silent turns to me and says ‘I’ve got this problem with my knee…”

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

